US visa issuance restricted for three African countries

By Staff | Agence EcoFin September 19, 2017

Trump’s administration issued a visa restriction order for citizens from 4 countries worldwide, including three in Africa. These are Cambodia, Eritrea, Guinea and Sierra Leone. The law entered into effect since September 13, 2017.

The United States blames those countries of not cooperating in the framework of repatriation of their citizens living irregularly in the US. According to Washington, the expulsion orders hit more than 5576 citizens from those countries. In details, there are 2137 Guineans, 1900 Cambodians, 839 citizens from Sierra Leone and about 700 Eritreans.

One of the major reason Washington adopted this measure was the lack of documents that can help US government send them back to their home countries.

The United States national security council in a public announcement yesterday pointed out that the measure will only apply to “some” Visa requesters. It also warned those countries that “in the absence of an appropriate response, those measures will extend to a larger population”.

Accordingly, the US embassy in Eritrea stopped issuing H1B visas while the Guinean US embassy stopped issuance of type B, F, G, and M visas to “Guinean government officials and their family members with only some exceptions”.

Related stories

AsokoNews Brief

Sign up for our weekly Africa Business Digest, highlighting the Top 5 stories per sector